2018 Brand Story—Macao Original Fashion Exhibition

Every touching story has unusual storylines and elements. How much you know about the story depends on your attitude to, curiosity about and exploration of it. We can easily figure out the brand logos on the clothing of people walking through streets and alleys, but how much do we understand the stories behind the brands?

A number of independent original fashion brands have sprung up in Macao, as the SAR government vigorously promotes the local cultural and creative industries in recent years. In view of this, the Macao Fashion Gallery continues to organize the “2018 Brand StoryMacao Original Fashion Exhibition” this year, providing a platform for local original fashion brands to tell their own stories, through open call for brand stories, followed by evaluation and selection.

Six fashion labels including I.N.K, Jade.L, alexis jordan, Nega C., Denimworks and ella épeler will be showcased and available to purchase in the exhibition. The exhibition is divided into three phases, with two brands to be shown in each phase. The event will start with the street fashion of I.N.K and gender-neutral designs of Jade.L, followed by alexis jordan’s male clothing of metropolitan improvisation as well as Nega C.’s sweet and romantic style in the second phase. It will be concluded by Denimworks’ jeans featuring unique craftsmanship and ella épeler’s totem illustrations.

 

2018 Brand Story—Macao Original Fashion Exhibition:

I.N.K Exhibition theme – “BATTLE: expedition”:

This time I.N.K presents its themed series by “chapters” instead of “seasons” hoping to tell a story in a more complete way. The theme is inspired by the 50s’ military garments. The designer redefines the fashion marked by solemnity with humourous designs featuring odd-length, disproportionate and misplaced parts, as well as eye-catching accessories adapted from military buckled belts.

The theme not only carries the military spirit of toughness, but also elements of Hip-hop music, namely, of impromptu street rap battles, which are exchanges intended to get audience’s cheers. The fashion series of this exhibition adds creativity to graffiti and sport cultures, innovating Hip Hop music culture with the 90s’ cutting style.

The series uses jungle green, vermilion, grey, black among other colours used for military purpose. Military coats made of soft alpaca wool, coupled with skateboard pants of lazy, casual denim and hooded sweater of cozy cotton build a new fashion in a leisure city. Classic MA-1 and M-65 flight jackets are transformed with elastic nylon, breaking away from the stereotypically grave image of military clothing.

Besides, this first series adopts the flower symbol of Macao as the theme, demonstrating the culture underlying the city’s fashion brands. The designer links Macao, fashion and taste of life with “ink”, suggesting the flying of the flag for fashion, and the start of the brand’s “expedition”.

 

JADE.L  Exhibition theme – “Gentlewomen”:

The theme is inspired by feminism of the 19th century, when women’s dressing became increasingly gender-neutral with fewer constraints under the influence of men’s dressing style.

Referring to the dressing style of the then British gentlemen, the designer applies the ideas of frock and cape coats in the details of the women’s clothing in an attempt to blend feminine glamour with unpretentiousness and competence in the series. The double faced wool, as a main clothing fabric, carries the visual effect of haziness like the view on a smoggy day, while the overall yellowish grey colour of the series gives a fuzzy and confusing impression.

The exhibition is set in a way reminiscent of the smoggy atmosphere in the time of industrial development, accompanied by the assorted wheat and flaxen exhibits which being in sunlight, help create a dim, yellow space of warmth. It makes visitors feel as if they were back in the 19th century, experiencing the fusion of modern and vintage fashions in the era of mystery and simplicity.

Participated Designers

Jade Leong
Kris Chan
Inky Leong

Photos

Share

2018品牌的故事─澳門原創服裝展之一

每個動人故事背後都有不平凡的情節和元素,對故事背後的理解多與少,在乎你對故事的態度、好奇和探索程度。走在路上,大街小巷,路人各自穿着不同的服裝、不同的品牌,我們可以清楚看見其標誌,但品牌創立的背後故事,我們又知道多少?

近年,澳門特區政府大力推動文創產業發展,本澳冒起多個獨立原創時裝品牌,為此,澳門時尚廊今年延續策劃“2018品牌的故事─澳門原創服裝展”,透過公開徵集品牌故事、評選及提供展覽場地,讓本地原創時裝品牌,透過澳門時尚廊展覽平台,向公眾述說自家品牌故事。

是次展出的六個服裝品牌包括I.N.K、Jade.L、alexis jordan、Nega C.、Denimworks及ella épeler;場內同時售賣各參展品牌的服裝產品。展覽分為三期舉行,每期展出兩個品牌,首期由帶有街頭潮流風格的I.N.K及中性型格的JADE.L打響頭炮;第二期由率性都會男服alexis jordan及帶甜美浪漫風格的Nega C.接棒;最後一期由獨特的牛仔工藝Denimworks及插畫圖騰藝術ella épeler展出。

 

2018品牌的故事─澳門原創服裝展之一:

I.N.K 展覽主題“BATTLE:遠征”:

品牌I.N.K是次以“章節”為概念,運用分段形式“編寫”系列主題,取代“春夏/秋冬”的呈現方式,期望更完整地表達故事。主題靈感源自50年代的軍裝服;設計師運用長短失調、比例衝突、設計錯位的“幽默”,將帶有嚴肅性的軍裝服時尚定義重組,將軍裝風的腰帶裝備環扣,隨意轉換成亮眼配飾。

是次展覽主題除了帶出堅韌的軍隊精神,也包含有嘻哈(Hip-hop)音樂文化元素,即街頭即興對唱的挑戰表演,為贏得觀眾喝彩而戰的交流。是次展覽服裝系列將創意融入嘻哈音樂、塗鴉及運動文化;以90年代的剪裁風格融合嘻哈音樂文化中。

服裝系列運用叢林綠、朱砂紅、風衣灰、夜空黑等軍用色彩;材質方面,軍裝大衣選用柔軟的羊駝毛,滑板西褲選用慵懶隨性的丹寧布,舒適純棉的連帽衛衣,混搭出在悠閒都市裏時尚新力軍的穿着風格。經典的“空軍MA1”及“空軍M65”外套,以爽韌的綿綸重新改造,打破軍服的舊有沉重刻板印象。

此外,本季服裝系列更以澳門標誌性的花飾,作為首個服裝系列的主題,帶出澳門時尚品牌的文化底蘊。設計師將澳門情懷、時尚及生活品味一“墨”相承”,寓意時尚旗幟的揮動,宣佈品牌正式踏上“遠征”之路。

 

JADE.L 展覽主題─“Gentlewomen”:

系列靈感源自19世紀的女性主義;女性打扮風格受到男士打扮風格的影響下,漸趨中性化,減少過往“束縛性”的穿衣風格。

服裝設計參考當時英國紳士的穿衣風格,把風衣和斗篷設計,運用在是次系列的女裝細節設計上,期望把女性的嫵媚與簡潔幹練風格融合;主面料中的雙面羊毛料展現出霧霾那種時而清晰、時而模糊的雙重視覺;而黃灰色貫穿着整個系列,流露出朦朧混沌的感覺。

本次展覽的空間格局上,仿似工業發展中的霧霾氛圍;配搭豐富的小麥與亞麻色系,在陽光的映射下,營造出昏黃且溫暖的空間,讓參觀者仿如置身在19世紀,在神秘而簡樸的年代,體驗復古與時尚的融合。

參展設計師

梁玉佩
陳小龍
梁衍奇

相關圖片

分享